
Primeloans: loan details and how to apply
NCR-registered online lender (NCRCP20937) offering short-term loans from R500 to R4,000, with a decision from about 15 minutes.










Updated 27 October 2026 · Checked by the Zaim.com editorial team
What PrimeLoans is
PrimeLoans is an online lender for South Africa operated by Prime Loans Technology (Pty) Ltd (company registration 2024/739416/07). The company states on its website and in its Terms of Use that it is a registered credit provider with the National Credit Regulator under NCRCP20937. It lends its own money: you apply on the website, sign the credit agreement online and the funds are paid into the bank account or eWallet you choose. The site stresses that it operates exclusively online and does not accept walk-ins or request payments through unofficial channels.
Loan conditions at a glance
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Loan amount | Up to R4,000 on a first application (the advertiser lists R500 to R4,000); the FAQ says amounts up to R8,000 are available to repeat customers only |
| Repayment term | Shown in your pre-agreement quotation (the advertiser lists 5 to 35 days) |
| Interest and fees | Shown in your quotation before you sign; no rate table is published on the site |
| Application time | About 7 minutes according to the About us page |
| Decision and payout | From 15 minutes; 15 minutes to 2 hours during business hours |
| Repayment | Debit order (DebiCheck) or manual payment from your personal account |
Who can apply
- You have a valid South African ID number and a copy of your ID.
- You have a cellphone number and a bank account.
- You can show verifiable income for at least three months (child grant payments do not count), using your latest three bank statements and a payslip.
- You can provide proof of residence.
- You are not under an administration order or debt counselling, and you pass the affordability assessment.
The advertiser's listing gives an age range of 20 to 64; the site itself does not state a minimum or maximum age.
How to apply
- Choose the loan amount with the slider on the home page.
- Fill in the online form with your personal, employment and bank details and upload the requested documents.
- Wait for the review. The company says it checks affordability as required by the National Credit Act.
- If approved, review the pre-agreement statement and quotation, sign the agreement and confirm the DebiCheck mandate with your bank.
- Receive the money in your bank account. Transfers can be delayed outside banking hours, so you can pick an eWallet for an instant payout.
What a loan can cost
PrimeLoans does not publish an interest rate or fee schedule on its site, so the exact cost is only shown once you apply. The advertiser's listing mentions a rate of 29.25% that depends on amount and term; treat this as indicative only and rely on your own quotation. Late payments can bring extra charges under the National Credit Act. If you need more time, the site explains that you can apply for an extension in your personal account by paying accrued interest and fees and signing a new agreement.
Advantages and drawbacks
- Fully online with a quick decision.
- Several repayment options, including Capitec Pay, EFT, Ozow, card, Google Pay, Apple Pay and in-store payment.
- Extension option and a mobile app listed on the site.
- No published rate or fee table before you apply.
- Small amounts and short terms mean repayments can be large relative to the loan.
- Three bank statements, a payslip and proof of residence are required.
Before you accept an offer
Read the pre-agreement statement and quotation carefully. Under the National Credit Act the cost of a loan is made up of interest, an initiation fee and a monthly service fee, and a registered lender must assess whether you can afford the repayments. Borrow only what your budget can carry, and if you already struggle with repayments, consider speaking to a registered debt counsellor first.
Frequently asked questions
Is PrimeLoans a registered credit provider?
Yes. Prime Loans Technology (Pty) Ltd states on its website that it holds National Credit Regulator registration number NCRCP20937. You can verify this on the NCR website.
How much can I borrow from PrimeLoans?
New applicants can borrow up to R4,000 (the advertiser lists R500 to R4,000). According to the FAQ, amounts up to R8,000 are available to repeat customers only.
How long does approval and payout take?
The site says the review and transfer usually take from 15 minutes. During business hours payout can take from 15 minutes to 2 hours, and bank transfers may be delayed on weekends and outside banking hours. Choosing an eWallet gives an instant transfer.
What documents do I need?
Your cellphone number, ID number and a copy of your ID, your latest three bank statements and a payslip, and proof of residence.
Can I get a loan with bad credit?
The site says that approval depends on an affordability assessment and compliance with the lender's requirements. It does not state that a poor credit record rules you out, but you must have three months of verifiable income and not be under debt counselling or an administration order.
Can I postpone my repayment?
You can apply for an extension in your personal account, pay the accrued interest and fees and sign a new agreement. If you cannot pay, contact the company before the due date.
| Official website | https://primeloans.co.za |
| Legal name | Prime Loans Technology (Pty) Ltd |
| Credit provider registration | NCRCP20937 |
| Phone numbers | +27 21 139 0909 |
| support@primeloans.co.za |